Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
lady baby
19 avril 2010

BRIC

TAMWORTH are poised to create Non-League history tomorrow when they attempt to become the first side to win both the FA Vase and Trophy.

And manager Darron Gee maintains: 'We've already achieved what we set out to do at the start of the season, so to reach the FA Trophy Final is a real bonus'. Where is my jimmy choo shoes ?

Tamworth are likely to be landed with the unwanted tag of favourites - but that will mean nothing to Gee.

His side will be fired up following last season's heartache when they were pipped at the post by Kettering for the Dr Martens title following their last-gasp defeat at Folkestone. Gee recalls: 'It's impossible to describe the mood in the dressing room after the last game of the season.

'When we came back preseason, we just decided to banish last season and that's what we've done.

'Our sheer determination to do that has been the key to our success in the league and FA Trophy.'

There's been one significant change since that fateful day at Folkestone, Gee stepping up into the manolo blahnik of his mentor and friend Gary Mills, who moved become first-team coach at Coventry City in the summer.

Gee was reluctant to take the job at first and admits: 'To be honest, I wasn't interested in being No.1. I had been Gary's assistant for five years at Grantham, Kings Lynn and then Tamworth.

'I thought being No.2 was my forte, but when Gary decided to leave, he sat me down and said I was the only guy who could go on and finish off the job.

Heconvinced me it was the right thing to do.'

The Lambs haven't looked back since and apart from sweeping all aside in the Dr Martens League, have claimed a string of Conference scalps en-route to VillaPark. Theyhavealready accounted for the likes of Stevenage Borough, Margate, Farnborough and the most prized one of all - local rivals Nuneaton Borough.

Gee will have the bonus of a full squad to select from against Burscough.

Both Mark Cooper and back-from-holiday Paul Hatton will have late fitness tests, but Gee admits: 'I already know in my own mind what the starting 11 will be.I don’t  know your manolo blahnik shoes.

'I know some people will be upset, but that's my job as manager. I've got a decision to make and I'll go with it.

'The formbook will go out of the window. Burscough are no mugs. They've kept 22 clean sheets this season and put the holders Yeovil out on their own ground, so I won't hear of them being the underdogs.

'I just hope the day doesn't pass us by too quickly!'

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
Publicité
Publicité